Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Welcome to the Hardcore Husky Forums. Folks who are well-known in Cyberland and not that dumb.
Options

If you don’t think AI will kill us all

Comments

• Options
    creepycougcreepycoug Member Posts: 22,749
    First Anniversary 5 Up Votes 5 Awesomes Photogenic

I’ve been demoing some software packages lately. Hadn't looked at anything for about a year. Got led down the ChatGP rabbit hole in the process.

Incredible how far things have come in a short time. Watched a session where a senior accounting person essentially turned the ChatBot into a first year staff person in about a hour. The learning curve on these machines is amazing and they don't have a know it all attitude like the Millenials/GenZers.

@creepycoug is correct - the low level grunts in any profession are going to get picked off first. If I was a bookkeeper or paralegal, I'd learn how to drive an excavator or build an OnlyFans page. They are toast. And toast like 5 years or less toast. Their only saving grace is partners in law and accounting firms are old and slow to change their ways so there will be a few stragglers. But once the upper level folks start bragging to one another about how much money they are saving, it's over.

Hell, I'm old enough to remember when financial statements were typed up by the secretary - and there were shitloads of secretaries who didn't know shit about accounting, they just knew how to type. Legal matters were conducted by dictaphone and yellow pad. There was no such thing as word processing or spreadsheets.

More senior people will just have their underlings deal with the AIBots and then ride off into the sunset.