Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Welcome to the Hardcore Husky Forums. Folks who are well-known in Cyberland and not that dumb.
Options

Your personal worst / embarrassing sports story.

Comments

• Options
    dncdnc Member Posts: 56,614
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Awesomes 5 Up Votes

dnc said:

I've never been embarrassed in my entire fucking life. I'm pretty much good at everything I do. Always have been.

But,

I spent some time back in So Fla for a year of HS. During that year, I had two moments that made it abundantly clear to me that I was not cut out for Division 1 football.

1. As a sophomore, I got moved up to the varsity. Seemed like a good thing. In the red/grey game, a kid who would go on to the U as a special teamer and buried deep on the depth chart at linebacker (think tight end body) took a short kick on kickoff and ran up the sideline free. I had the angle and I was speedy so getting to him was no big deal for me. Mind you, he is tight roping the sideline. I get there full steam and he dips his head and shoulder and knocks me on my ass without breaking stride. I think I may have nudged him an inch to the left to make him step on the line. Or maybe he scored. I've chosen to forget. But let's say I took the brunt of a situation where it's normally the other way around. Probably concussed to boot.

2. The first actual game I was on the varsity, we went up to play Miami Columbus. David Shula was the QB, there were a bunch of other D1 players, including this kid named Alonzo Highsmith, who played full back and linebacker. I didn't get into that game. The embarrassing part was that I didn't want to. Alonzo, who is in that gif I like to post (I ain't scared of you bitch), was a fucking man, and trust me, you wouldn't have wanted to either. He scored a TD the next year as a true freshman against the 83 Huskers. And he was not afraid of the Boz.