Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Welcome to the Hardcore Husky Forums. Folks who are well-known in Cyberland and not that dumb.

Let's talk about Bourbon

SwayeSwaye Moderator, Swaye's Wigwam Posts: 41,044
First Anniversary Combo Breaker 5 Up Votes 5 Awesomes
Founders Club
So, I have been on a multiyear journey with whiskeys. My able guides have been @PurpleBaze and @YellowSnow . Been a super enjoyable trip to try many bottles of all different sorts of stuff. Straight whiskey, scotch, bourbon. Had plenty of all the varieties. After much introspection I think I most identify as a bourbon guy. Specifically wheated bourbon. But, I am still a novice in the whiskey game, so although my palate likes bourbon the best, and specifically wheated at the tippy top (just plain old Weller Special Reserve tastes damn near perfect to me), I am open to suggestions.

Besides the obvious shit like the really high end Wellers, Stagg and Pappy, what else does everyone swear by for bourbon? I heard Olf Fitzgerald if you want to lighten your wallet a good bit, and I've also had recommendations for Redemption Wheated (affordable but I can't find it anywhere), Four Roses, and Elmer T Lee (also super pricey). Anything else? Any bottles of great bourbon you don't have to take out a second mortgage to buy? I've had Makers, which I liked, but it wasn't excellent to me. Wellers 7 year still the best until I try some of the more expensive shit I guess.

Comments

• BleachedAnusDawgBleachedAnusDawg Member, Swaye's Wigwam Posts: 10,391
    First Comment First Anniversary 5 Awesomes 5 Up Votes
    Founders Club
    I had a sample of Blanton's bourbon last night. $100 retail, but since it's hard to find people often sell it for $250 on the second market.

Personally, I do not care for whiskey/bourbon at all so I couldn't tell you if it's actually as good as the hype. I mostly stick with beer and even that has become kinda boring.