Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Welcome to the Hardcore Husky Forums. Folks who are well-known in Cyberland and not that dumb.

Leave!

Comments

• KaepskneeKaepsknee Member Posts: 14,849
    2001400ex said:

2001400ex said:

salemcoog said:

But but but.... Half of the 200,000 are homeowners!!!!

I find this funny...

First, why were banks loaning houses to temporary status residents? Seems like a risk for if they have to leave, the bank is left holding the note.

Second, why are they buying homes to begin with? If I got granted temporary status in let's say Italy, the last thing I'm going to do is buy "real property" until know for sure i'm a permanent resident, or I'm extremely rich and it could be a vacation home (Which 99.9999% of these people wouldn't qualify as). That just isn't very smart.

Third, Hell yes they should still be paying taxes. While they are here, they benefit from public schools, law enforcement, parks, roads, etc. Paying taxes doesn't implant somebody here. It's an obligation that all people should pay if they receive benefit from it.
    Is anyone arguing they shouldn't pay taxes?
    They're arguing that since most are paying taxes, they should be able to stay.

I'm saying that paying taxes doesn't grant you permanent residency.
    I didn't know about this issue until today. But I kinda think that after 18 years of kicking the can by both parties. That yes, temporary is over and for the people who established families here, let them stay. That's the government's fault for letting them stay this long. We should fix it, not boot them.

But y'all should ignore basic human decency and side with Trump. Because he said so.
    Not that you care about this kind of thing but Trump is doing what He said He would do. Get rid of those that aren’t here legally. Like actually following the rule of law.