Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Welcome to the Hardcore Husky Forums. Folks who are well-known in Cyberland and not that dumb.

The Wigwam Weekly, April 16, 2021

DerekJohnsonDerekJohnson Administrator, Swaye's Wigwam Posts: 59,718
First Anniversary First Comment 5 Awesomes 5 Up Votes
Founders Club

This week's featured post comes from non-Wam member @BleachedAnusDawg. He said how he'd just bought some Bitcoin. I made my first foray into Bitcoin two days ago. I have been contemplating it for a few months, and finally pulled the trigger. It wasn't a yuuuuge purchase or anything, but enough to get my feet wet.

The recent trillions of printed stimulus has devalued the dollar. Janet Yellen says there is no inflation, but I can see it cropping up everywhere. The prices for everything have shot upwards in the past 6-8 months.

Like the Bleached One said, you'd have to buy tons of Bitcoin in order to make a lot of money off of it. But I like the idea of getting involved and slowly building up some holdings. Maybe it's little more than psychological reassurance that at least I'm doing something. I agreed with a comment in that thread from @Doog_de_Jour, that I wish I had started with it sooner.

I've read reasoned arguments why the dollar won't implode. And yet, Biden is talking this week about more stimulus. I can't see how the dollar can maintain its value when a seemingly infinite supply is being printed.

In the summer of 1981, I attended a week-long Husky Football camp put on by the Bellevue Boys Club. I was ten years old. There were 8-10 UW football players who led drills and encouraged us kids who loved football. I remember players like Mark Stewart and Fletcher Jenkins being there. As it happened, I was drafted onto Chuck Nelson's team. I was eventually named captain of our squad, which was named Nelson's Nuggets.