Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Welcome to the Hardcore Husky Forums. Folks who are well-known in Cyberland and not that dumb.

Mark Dantonio

Was a DC for 8 years amid 20 years as an assistant, including 3 years as DC at Ohio St.

Prior to coming to MSU they went 5-5-4. He goes 7-9-6-11-11-7 and likely another 11 this year.

Not a sexy hire but a solid coach who proved he was a good hire immediately and then very good in years 4 and 5. Not saying we should hire him but it shows you two things. First, Sark looks like a fucking high school coach compared to the top 20 coaches and second, a boring but solid coach will prove his worth early and pay huge dividends over time.

Comments

• I would like a coach with a proven track record as a head coach myself. What is his conference record? I know teams have a habit of padding their W-L.
  • Fire_Marshall_BillFire_Marshall_Bill Member, Swaye's Wigwam Posts: 23,662 Founders Club
    edited November 2013
    He's definitely in my top 3 or 4. I'm not sure of his conference record but he's made five or six straight bowls, has owned Michigan, and has made some Big 10 Championship Games. With him, the lines would be solved within a year or two, there wouldn't be very many blowout losses, and we would win at least 9 or 10 most years.
  • fivehundredmileDAWGfivehundredmileDAWG Member Posts: 1,212
    I like him.. But he hasn't gotten to a big (BCS) bowl ... So he hasn't won one.. Good coaches are good in big games ...

But if it was him or Sark.. I'm with Dantonionionionno ...
  • HeretoBeatmyChestHeretoBeatmyChest Member Posts: 4,295

I would like a coach with a proven track record as a head coach myself. What is his conference record? I know teams have a habit of padding their W-L.

35-18 and since his first year 32-13.

He's coached under Tressel and Saban.

• puppylove_sugarsteelpuppylove_sugarsteel Member Posts: 9,133