Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Welcome to the Hardcore Husky Forums. Folks who are well-known in Cyberland and not that dumb.
Options

Streaming, SlingTv, Recording, and other ass play

UW_Doog_BotUW_Doog_Bot Member, Swaye's Wigwam Posts: 14,185
First Anniversary First Comment 5 Up Votes 5 Awesomes
Swaye's Wigwam
So I have been ponying up for slingtv for two years now to be able to receive out-of-region PAC12 content and because I don't have some ridiculous cable package. It's ok, not great, not good, but ok. I can login from work, my phone, or home and watch football. So long as it's on either the Pac12 or an ESPN channel... no local broadcasts and no Fox Sports etc. I've got an antenna that works alright on my TV at home for local broadcasts in a pinch though reception can be spotty depending on the network. Any FS1 broadcasts mean I'm headed to the bar or my parents house.

One of the features that sling used to have included was cloud dvr. I could record a game I wanted to see and then watch it at my leisure. Sometimes the dvr would let me skip commercials, sometimes it wouldn't. If it was really FS it would force me to sit through the whole broadcast without any fast forward or rewind ability. That doesn't sound bad except that it's liable to drop your recording and force you to watch everything all over again. At least I could watch what I wanted on a recording though. They have since made that feature an additional $5 a month add-on and buried in the fine print is that all ESPN live broadcasts can't be recorded essentially rendering it useless.

I'm obviously not above finding a recording on youtube or through a reddit link but as we all know that's all hit or miss. It's also not great if you don't want to know the outcome ahead of time.

Just wondering what everyone else's set ups look like and what the work arounds might look like to be able to watch live & record our Dwags.