Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Welcome to the Hardcore Husky Forums. Folks who are well-known in Cyberland and not that dumb.
Options

Maintenance

2»

Comments

• Options
    BennyBeaverBennyBeaver Member Posts: 13,346
    First Anniversary 5 Awesomes First Comment 5 Up Votes

I'd never heard of Vanilla before coming here. Holy expensive, Batman! There's nothing about this forum that couldn't be replicated (or done better) with a free installation of phpbb or equivalent. Inmotion hosting's most basic managed dedicated server plan would probably handle this forum fine for just over $100 a month. You're overpaying to a staggering degree for what you're getting.

I’m no expert and my hobby bored is hosted totally free (and has shitty formatting, but still) but I agree that Vanillers prcing seems v high.

Is it partially due to the exchange rate?
  • Options
    Pitchfork51Pitchfork51 Member Posts: 26,668
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Up Votes Combo Breaker
    edited December 2018

I'd never heard of Vanilla before coming here. Holy expensive, Batman! There's nothing about this forum that couldn't be replicated (or done better) with a free installation of phpbb or equivalent. Inmotion hosting's most basic managed dedicated server plan would probably handle this forum fine for just over $100 a month. You're overpaying to a staggering degree for what you're getting.

The key word is "probably".

I was told your exact words back in 2013 and I made the switch for one month. It was not anywhere near the quality of Vanilla and the cries of protest from posters was deafening. (Plus I didn't like the format and functionality). The poster that made the suggestion to me felt so embarrassed that he left HH and never returned.

Do I have issues with Vanilla from time-to-time? Yes. But am I happy overall with what we're getting? Yes, I am. Plus I have reduced and fixed costs now so I have no complaints.